top of page

Thoughts on achieving LEED Green Associate & applying LEED moving forward


After being given the opportunity to study for the LEED Green Associate exam through USGBC's Community Green Scholar grant, I became certified on January 6, 2017.

Using GIS to identify locations in the Twin Cities Metro that are eligible for LEED ND based on land use and density. Source: GIS Lounge

I see this first step in joining the green building movement as an interesting opportunity to explore how I can apply my GIS expertise (grounded in market analysis and urban planning) in helping stakeholders achieve LEED certification (Using GIS as a decision making tool for LEED credits...).

"GIS is rapidly becoming part of the future of green building"

Former Vice President of Research, U.S. Green Building Council

Moving forward, my thoughts on applying what I've learned as a LEED Green Associate include:

1. Initiate the "Green" conversation

Ask clients if they've considered LEED certification and if not, why.

2. Establish LEED network(s)/Join LEED network(s)

Join/foster a LEED community; have a team "ready to go" in the event a client may wish to pursue LEED.

3. Dive into LEED for Retail & LEED Neighborhood Development (LEED-ND)

I hope to become LEED-ND since I anticipate being involved in the market analysis/feasibility/planning aspects of corridor/masterplanning projects in the mere future (like the ENCORE! Tampa project highlighted in the video above).

I also hope to dive into LEED for Retail as my professional career is rooted in retail development consulting, particularly for retail centers/shopping malls. Ever since getting into retail consulting I've come to learn and love everything about it.

In addition to LEED for Retail and LEED-ND, more recently as I'm diving into China projects I also hope to become acquainted with LEED in China.

Concluding Thoughts

Moving forward, I hope to contribute my current GIS expertise to the movement and continually learn from experts in the LEED industry who have expertise in Retail and ND projects. On a closing note, please enjoy this video "Better buildings are our legacy" from the USGBC:

REFERENCE:

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page